Pasta Lenticchie (lentils)

Pasta Lenticchie

Pasta Lenticchie

Growing up I always remember having pasta lenticchie when the family gathered together. It is a favorite of my sister and mother. My mom tells stories of going to grand mommy’s every Friday for Pasta Lenticchie. It’s delicious, simple and hearty.

I also like it with sugo, what my family calls pasta sauce. Well I should now admit sugo is my favorite food. Yes, I eat it like soup and have since I was a little girl. My family recipe is the best and I am on my way to mastering it 🙂 I actually have it in my plans to turn it into a soup! It’s that good!
20130806_183028
Even with my sugo obsession, I was amazed when I first put it on pasta lenticchie. It is a hearty, delicious, almost can’t put into words amazing dish that you have to try. I AM ADDICTED! 

This is what I would consider to be my “pasta with meat sauce.” It really reminds me of being a little girl and devouring a bowl it. Only I don’t miss the meat and this recipe is much better. 🙂 
At the bottom of this post you’ll find the sugo recipe if you want to try it this way. I always have it on hand so it’s easy for me to throw it on whatever, and everything, I want. 

20130805_100733

recipe
1 lb whole grain elbow pasta, or any tiny pasta you would like

1 lb lenticchie (lentils)
1 onion, peeled and cut in half
1 carrot, peeled and cut in half or fourths
1/4 cup olive oil
1 tsp basil
1/2 tsp savory
1/2 tsp marjoram
1/2 tsp sage
(you can substitute the above spices for an Italian herb mix if that’s what you have on hand)
salt/pepper

Cook the pasta as directed on the package. Cook the lentils in 3-4 cups of water and add the onion halves and the carrot to the pot.
When the pasta is done drain it but save about 3/4 cup of the pasta water to add back into the pot with the pasta.
When the lentils are done take the onion and carrot out (if you plan to make vegan burgers later in the week remove 1/4 cup of cooked lentils) then add the lentils to the pasta.
Add the olive oil and herbs, salt and pepper, then mix all together!
It’s really simple and makes a large batch. This recipe also freezes well. When reheating, either frozen or from the refrigerator, you can add a little water if the pasta seems dry or do what I do and add SUGO! recipe is below

Pasta Lenticchie w/Sugo

Pasta Lenticchie w/Sugo

Sauce makes a lot but whatever is left over I freeze or use the rest in another pasta dish

56 oz tomato sauce
2 tsp minced garlic
14 oz water
1 tbs olive oil (or oil of choice)
1 medium white onion, chopped finely
1 tbs dried sweet basil
1/3 cup raw sugar
salt and pepper


To Make the Sauce
In a pot, over medium heat add olive oil then saute the onion, salt and pepper. When onion is almost translucent add the garlic and saute a few minutes longer. Then add the tomato sauce, water, basil and sugar. Bring to a boil then reduce heat and let simmer for AS LONG AS YOU WANT :) If I’m in a hurry I’ll cook it about 30 minutes. If I’m preparing a large batch and have lots of time, I might let it simmer on low for an entire afternoon!

2 thoughts on “Pasta Lenticchie (lentils)

  1. Pingback: homemade vegan burgers | KateCares simple.healthy.homemade.

  2. Pingback: Riso rosso con lenticchie e peperoni | La Caccavella

Leave a Reply

