healthy versatile recipe- peanut butter granola bars, crumble, trail mix & pie crust!

I make lots of different homemade granola bars. This recipe is healthy and delicious but best of all VERSATILE!
When crumbled this is fantastic sprinkled on vegan pudding, yogurt, or mixed with popcorn. I also use the crumbles to make a peanut butter pie crust.

Image

RECIPE for trail mix  

You can mix and match any nuts, seeds, dried fruit or chocolate that you like. I mix the nuts and seeds together and keep in the pantry. Then mix another batch of nuts and seeds but add dried fruit and/or chocolate chips for the kids.

cashews
almonds
pecans
walnuts
soy nuts
sunflower seeds
pumpkin seeds

raisins
dried cranberries
dried blueberries
chocolate chips
Image
RECIPE for peanut butter granola bars and granola crumble
1 cup trail mix (above)
1 cup oats
3/4 cup peanut butter
1 1/2 TBS agave nectar
3 TBS flax seed (leave whole or grind if you prefer)
1/2 TBS apple sauce

Mix everything in a bowl. Line baking sheet with wax or parchment paper then pour mixture on top and smooth out the best you can. I use another piece of wax or parchment paper on top to help me maneuver the mix to form a square. Next, place it in the refrigerator for 20-30 minutes to  slightly harden. This makes it easier to work with. When I have made a square I put in a 350 degree oven and bake for 13-15 minutes. Make sure to carefully flip it over half way through cooking. Allow to cool then cut into pieces, bars, or just “crumble” the whole sheet to add to whatever 🙂

RECIPE Peanut butter granola pie crust
3/4 cup crumbled peanut butter granola
(I prefer the mix without dried fruit but it is still good if it has dried fruit in it)
1/2 TBS coconut oil
To make a chocolate crust add 1 tsp cocoa 

Place in food processor and pulse/mix until it forms a “dough like” mixture then push out onto a pie pan. After I am done I like to place mine in the refrigerator or freezer for a bit to harden up. This crust is perfect for my “peanut butter chocolate pie” I will post that recipe soon. You will never believe it has tofu and avocados in it! I will get a picture posted of the crust the next time I make it 🙂

Image

4 thoughts on “healthy versatile recipe- peanut butter granola bars, crumble, trail mix & pie crust!

  1. Pingback: healthy peanut butter & chocolate oatmeal | KateCares simple.healthy.homemade.

  2. Pingback: Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Granola Bars Recipe | Nosh My Way

    • Yes. I use a baking tray to prepare the bars and leave it on the parchment paper when baking. Half way through cooking, I flip the bars over so that both sides get a little dark and crispy.
      Sorry it took me so long to reply to your comment. I have not been able to blog as much because I decided to back to school and my classes are time consuming! 🙂 Thank you for your comment. Let me know if you have any other questions. I will be more prompt at answering them.
      Kate

Leave a Reply

