Tinctures and Infusions

20130705_180228

Today, I made tinctures and infusions with the herbs I gathered from the garden. 

I will use them in room & body sprays, reed diffusers, lotions and skin care items, hair rinse/scalp treatment, mouthwash, body wash, shampoo, cooking…

20130705_182441

I cleaned all the herbs I harvested. Lemon Balm, Lemon Verbena, Spearmint, Eucalyptus, Roses, Lavender, Rosemary, Patchouli.

I gathered different size mason jars, olive oil, grapeseed oil, safflower oil, apple cider vinegar and vodka.

20130705_175833

RECIPES

Patchouli, Lemon Verbena and Eucalyptus will be used for the base of the room & body sprays. So I took 3 mason jars and filled them 1/5 the way with each herb. I muddled the herb in the jar to lightly bruise it.  Then, added vodka to each one. I made sure the herb was completely submerged then screwed the cap on.

This time, I am using a combination of lemon balm, lemon verbena, lavender and eucalyptus for my reed diffuser base. I filled a mason jar 1/2-3/4 the way full of the herbs and muddled them together then topped them with safflower oil. Again, making sure the herbs are completely submerged.

I used the same method as above with lavender & grapeseed oil and rose & grapeseed oil. These will be added to homemade lotions and skin care items later 🙂

Using the same method I made one using olive oil and rosemary. This will be enjoyed in the kitchen when it’s ready. Yum, Yum, Yum!

All of these infusions and tinctures will be kept in a sunny spot for a few weeks. Every couple of days I will check on them, stir the mixtures and make sure the herbs are still submerged. Oils can go rancid easily so its important to check them, keep the herbs submerged and smell/taste before using them.

After a few weeks when I think the oils are ready, I will strain them into another clean sterilized jar using cheesecloth so I can SQUEEZE as much of the oils out as I can. Then I store them in a dark cool place. I will move the tinctures to a dark cool place but will wait a few more weeks before I strain the herbs out.

Lastly, I followed the same procedure/ratio as the oils but used apple cider vinegar instead of oil. Except, these will be stored in a dark cool place then entire time they’re infusing. I am  using spearmint to try in a new mouthwash recipe. I also infused some rose, lemon verbena and lemon balm all together with apple cider vinegar that will be used in my AVC hair rinse and scalp treatment.

20130705_182524 20130705_182501

Leave a Reply

