Homemade Mouthwash Recipes

20130702_184508

Tonight Blake and I made some more mouthwash. We tried a new recipe! Below you’ll find the new one and then my “2 min mouthwash” because it’s so simple and quick to make.

I suffered from recurring monthly mouth ulcers and canker sores. I would get numerous at a time, some quite large. It was difficult to eat and talk. At times even made a grown woman cry 🙂 Doctors and dentist couldn’t tell me why they were happening or how to prevent them. They would simply recommend or give me an oral rinses. NOTHING WORKED! Since I started using my homemade toothpaste and mouthwash I have not had a single problem. If a sore does start to pop up (which is not often) I rinse a few times, it’s gone and doesn’t turn into an outbreak. I am so relieved!
*Did you know some of the chemicals in common toothpastes and mouthwashes can actually CAUSE mouth sores… hmm…. more on that in a later blog. 

 NEW RECIPE
3/4 cup distilled water
*you can make a 1% solution by only adding 1/2 cup of water but I wanted a “weaker” solution so went with 3/4. It depends on your needs at the moment how strong solution you could make. More on that at the bottom of this post*
1/4 cup hydrogen peroxide 3% (check active ingredients)
*safety information on using hydrogen peroxide can be found at the end of this post*
2 tbs aloe vera juice
1/8 cup fresh mint
1/8 cup fresh stevia leaves
1-2 drops tea tree oil
1-2 drops peppermint essential oil (optional)

Boil the distilled water then pour a little over the mint and stevia leaves.
Muddle to release oils then add the remainder of the water to steep. If you’re not going to muddle, slightly break or crush the leaves to help release oils.
Place in an ice bath until cooled. *ice bath- fill a bowl with ice and water then put the bowl filled with the hot mixture in it to cool*
Once cooled, strain out the leaves. Add the rest of the ingredients and store in a dark, preferably glass, bottle. My dad was kind enough to lend me a dark beer bottle 🙂 Best kept in the refrigerator. Shake before each use.

20130702_181011

“2 min mouthwash”
1/2 cup distilled water
1/8-1/2 cup hydrogen peroxide 3%
*Read hydrogen peroxide use below and determine the ratio you want to start with*
2 drops peppermint essential oil
2 drops tea tree oil, or try a tiny bit of coconut oil (optional)
liquid stevia sweetener to taste (optional)

mix all together and store in a dark, preferably glass, bottle
shake before each use

Hydrogen Peroxide Use

Well, there is a lot of lovers and haters of using hydrogen peroxide as an oral rinse for continual use.  As with most things, there are some safety concerns and of course DON’T SWALLOW IT .

.05-1.5% hydrogen peroxide is typical for a mouth rinse. If you use an oral rinse multiple times a day, use less hydrogen peroxide or more water to dilute it.  If once a day or a few times a week then maybe you want to up the hydrogen peroxide. The more you use it, the less hydrogen peroxide I would add, just to be safe. Little amounts do sometimes get into your body or strong amounts have been known to do more harm than good to your mouth. If multiple times a day use  less peroxide.

One might consider mixing it up and alternating between an Apple cider vinegar rinse of 1 cup water + 2 tbs apple cider vinegar. I WILL BE POSTING A RECIPE FOR THIS ONE TOO.

If you are prone to mouth sores you might up the ratio of [peroxide to water when a mouth sore or break out occurs then bring it back down when it clears up.

If using food grade hydrogen peroxide know the dilution needed and warnings, it’s typically 35%.

When buying 3-3.5%, the drugstore kind, there are stabilizers in it and I’m still looking into all of that. Some of them are the same chemicals you find in other mouthwashes and products. So again, I am still in the hunt for an awesome ALL natural homemade mouth rinse…  don’t worry I’ll get there. I use Apple Cider Vinegar for EVERYTHING and I’m sure it would be a good alternative. In the mean time, this is what I works. I love it and so does my pocketbook. Least I know what’s in it unlike the 7-15 ingredients and chemicals found in other mouthwashes.

I’M NOT A DOCTOR NOR SCIENTIST AND AM SIMPLY SHARING THE PRODUCTS I USE IN MY HOUSEHOLD AND MY OPINIONS FROM BASIC RESEARCH!!

One thought on “Homemade Mouthwash Recipes

  1. Pingback: What Your Mouth Tells You About Your Overall Health

Leave a Reply

